Conference 2020

REGISTER FOR CONFERENCE

MJSA 2020 Virtual Conference

Abbreviations: PDT (Pacific Daylight Time, GMT – 7); CDT (Central Daylight Time, GMT – 5), EDT (Eastern Daylight Time, GMT – 4); BST/IST (British Summer Time, GMT + 1), Israel DST (Daylight Savings Time, GMT + 3); IST (India Standard Time, GMT + 5:30)

October 18-21, 2020

Sunday October 18

The Other in Jewish Worlds

Chair: Rina Cohen Müller, Institut National des Langue et Civilisations Orientales

9am-11:30am PDT, 11am-12:30 pm CDT, 12pm-1:30pm EDT, 4pm-5:30pm GMT, 5pm-6:30 pm BST, 7pm-8:30pm Israel DST, 10:30pm-12:00am IST

“Excluded ‘Others:’ Arab Christians in Israel and Palestine”,

Charlyn Ingwerson, Drury University

“’Indian Motherland’ to ‘Jewish Fatherland’: Indian-Jewishness and Indian-Israeliness in Israel,” Mansheetal Singh, Charles University

Jews in Film

Chair: Rachel Harris, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champagne

12:00pm-1:30pm PDT, 2pm-3:30pm CDT, 3pm-4:30pm EDT, 4pm-9:30pm GMT, 5pm-6:30pm BST, 7pm-8:30pm Israel DST, 9:30pm-11:00pm IST

“The Pioneering American Jewish Women Directors of the 1970s”,

Lawrence Baron, emeritus San Diego State University

“Tragic Love Stories in Israeli Cinema”,

Carrie Bettel, York University

Ancient Israel

Chair: 

3:00-4:30pm PDT, 5:00pm-6:30pm CDT, 6:00pm-7:30pm EDT, 10:00pm-11:30pm GMT, 11:00pm-12:30am BST, 1:00am-2:30am Mon. Oct. 19 Israel DST, 3:30am-5:00am Mon. Oct. 19 IST

“Re-examining King David through new Archaeology Finds”,

Mike Pytlik, Oakland University

“The Whispering Of Many” On The Demonization Of Jeremiah’s Opponents In Jer 20:10”,

Cristiana Conti-Easton, York University

MJSA 2020 Virtual Conference

Abbreviations: PDT (Pacific Daylight Time, GMT – 7); CDT (Central Daylight Time, GMT – 5), EDT (Eastern Daylight Time, GMT – 4); BST/IST (British Summer Time, GMT + 1), Israel DST (Daylight Savings Time, GMT + 3); IST (India Standard Time, GMT + 5:30)

Monday October 19

American Literature

Chair:

9am-11:30am PDT, 11am-12:30 pm CDT, 12pm-1:30pm EDT, 4pm-5:30pm GMT, 5pm-6:30pm BST, 7pm-8:30pm Israel DST, 10:30pm-12:00am IST

“The Disappearance of Hebrew Women Writers in America”,

Michal Fram Cohen, Open University of Israel

Onfang fun Khemye: The First Chemistry Book in Yiddish”,

Stephen M. Cohen, Independent Scholar

“The Jewish Woman Immigrants’ expression of Jewish Womanhood in America: Four Stories and their Women”,

Mara W. Cohen Ioannides, Missouri State University

Queer Studies

Chair:

12:00pm-1:30pm PDT, 2pm-3:30pm CDT, 3pm-4:30pm EDT, 7pm-8:30pm GMT, 8pm-9:30pm BST, 10pm-11:30 pm Israel DST, 12:30am-2:00am Mon. Oct. 19 IST

“Jewish Texts and Queer Intimacies in Aciman’s Call Me by Your Name,”

Shlomo Gleibman, York University, Canada

“Going To and Fro and Walking Up and Down Meets ‘I Do This, I Do That’: Reconnecting Objectivism and the New York School”,

Allison Davis, University of Tennessee

MJSA 2020 Virtual Conference

Abbreviations: PDT (Pacific Daylight Time, GMT – 7); CDT (Central Daylight Time, GMT – 5), EDT (Eastern Daylight Time, GMT – 4); BST/IST (British Summer Time, GMT + 1), Israel DST (Daylight Savings Time, GMT + 3); IST (India Standard Time, GMT + 5:30)

Tuesday October 20

Jewish Theology

Chair: Peter Haas, emeritus Case Western Reserve University

9:15am-11:45am PDT, 11:15am-12:45 pm CDT, 12:15pm-1:45pm EDT, 4:15pm-5:45pm BST, 5:15pm-6:45pm GMT, 7:15pm-8:45pm Israel DST, 10:45pm-12:15am IST

“An Integrated Approach To The Role Of Tikkun Olam In Remix Judaism”,

Roberta Kwall, DePaul University College of Law

“Freedom and Creativity: a Bergsonian Reading of Rav Kook’s writings”,

Gila Amati, Oxford University

Feminist Theory

Chair: Charlyn Ingwerson, Drury University

Tuesday Oct. 20

1:00pm-2:30pm PDT, 2:00pm-3:30pm CDT, 3:00pm-4:30pm EDT, 7:00pm-8:30pm GMT, 8:00pm-9:30pm BST, 10:00pm-11:30pm Israel DST, 12:30am-2:00am Wed. Oct. 21 IST

“Revisioning the Christian Conservative Canon from a Jewish Feminist Perspective: Alicia Ostriker’s Appropriation of T.S. Eliot in ‘Dancing at the Devil’s Party’”,

Daniel Morris, Purdue University

“Dedication by Sivan Har-Shefi”,

Laura Wiseman, York University

MJSA 2020 Virtual Conference

Abbreviations: PDT (Pacific Daylight Time, GMT – 7); CDT (Central Daylight Time, GMT – 5), EDT (Eastern Daylight Time, GMT – 4); BST/IST (British Summer Time, GMT + 1), Israel DST (Daylight Savings Time, GMT + 3); IST (India Standard Time, GMT + 5:30)

Wednesday October 21

European History

Chair: David Meola, University of South Alabama

9:00am-11:30am PDT, 11:00am-1:30 pm CDT, 12:00pm-2:30pm EDT, 4:00pm-6:30pm GMT, 5:00pm-7:30pm BST, 7:00pm-9:30pm Israel DST, 9:30pm-12:00am IST

“Irish Jewish Myths of Origin”,

Natalie Wynn, Trinity College

“Apostasy as a Bargaining Chip for Jewish Women in the Responsa of the Rishonim,”

Jacob Aaron Lackner, University of Oklahoma

“Empathy and Its Inadequacies: Instances of Poetry in Oral Holocaust Testimonies”,

Anna Veprinska, University of Toronto

Rewriting Jewish History Across the Ages

Chair:

1:00pm-2:30pm PDT, 2:00pm-3:30pm CDT, 3:00pm-4:30pm EDT, 7:00pm-8:30pm GMT, 8:00pm-9:30pm BST, 10:00pm-11:30pm Israel DST, 12:30am-2:00am Wed. Oct. 21 IST

“‘The Text is Lacking’: Rewriting Early Rabbinic Traditions”

Matthew Goldstone, Academy for Jewish Religion

“Rewriting Tradition in Medieval Ashkenaz”

Jesse Abelman, Yeshiva University

“‘As Brutal as the Nazis’: Jewish Toughness, Historical Revisionism, and Rising Antisemitism”

 Miriam Eve Mora, City University of New York

RETURN TO HOME PAGE